Meet Authors. Buy Books. Get them signed!

Saturday, October 28, 2017 10 a.m.-4 p.m.

Duke Energy Convention Center

Free Admission

Find out the winners in our Awards Authors and Writing Contest.

Author Awards
One again, Books by the Banks recognized the best of the best with our second-annual Author Awards. These awards are meant to honor the abilities of our wonderful writers and say thank you for making our festival one of the best in the country. We are so grateful to The Scripps Howard Foundation for generously supporting the Author Awards. Winners were announced at a special reception the evening before the festival and took home a Rookwood Pottery trophy designed exclusively for the festival. The winners are:

  • Best Fiction: Chris Bachelder
  • Best Nonfiction: Jim Obergefell
  • Best Children’s: Loren Long
  • Best Teen: Mindy McGinnis

Writing Contest
The 2016 Books by the Banks Writing Contest was made possible by the McLane Foundation, which is committed to supporting literacy and education in our region. While only some of the entries received recognition, festival organizers would like to thank all who entered the contest and for sharing your stories.


  • FIRST PLACE: Sherry Cook Stanforth
    Title: “Crossing”
  • SECOND PLACE: Tonja Matney Reynolds
    Title “Life is Now”
  • THIRD PLACE: Jan Allen
    Title: “Another Man’s Treasure”


  • FIRST PLACE: Louise McKinney
    Title: “The Thirteenth Labor”
  • SECOND PLACE: Braden Devine
    Title “Rio”
  • THIRD PLACE: Lauren Myfelt
    Title: “Thin Ice”

Thank you all who entered the writing contest. We encourage you all to keep writing. Keep sharing. And keep reading.

Congratulations to the winners in all of our award categories — see you next year!